Mandalay

Mandalay is the second largest city in Myanmar and was established in 1857. It lies on the east bank of the Ayeyarwaddy River and in the upper part of Myanmar. Mandalay has the Royal Palace of the last Konbaung Dynasty. Mandalay inherits many cultural heritage from the ancient Myanmar Kingdoms and beautiful places to visit.

Around the city

Atumashi Monastery

The "Atumashi kyaung", which literally means "inimitable vihara", is also one of the well known sights. The original structure was destroyed by a fire in 1890 though the masonry plinth survived. It was indeed an inimitable one in its heyday. The reconstruction project was started by the government on 2 May 1995 and completed in June 1996.

Buddha’s Replica Tooth Relic Pagoda

One of the Buddha's Sacred Replica Tooth Relics was enshrined in the Mandalay Swedaw Pagoda on Maha Dhammayanthi Hill in Amarapura Township. The pagoda was built with cash donations contributed by the peoples of Burma and Buddhist donors from around the world under the supervision of the State Peace and Development Council. The authorities and donors hoisted Buddha's Replica Tooth Relic Pagoda Mandalay's Shwe Htidaw (sacred golden umbrella), Hngetmyatnadaw (sacred bird perch vane) and Seinhpudaw (sacred diamond bud) on 13 December 1996.

Kuthodaw Pagoda

(The World's Biggest Book): Built by King Mindon in 1857, this pagoda modeled on the Shwezigon Pagoda at Nyaung-U, is surrounded by 729 upright stone slabs on which are inscribed the entire Tipitaka as edited and approved by the Fifth Buddhist Council. It is popularly known as "World’s largest book" for its stone scriptures.

Kyauktawgyi Pagoda

Near the southern approach to Mandalay Hill stands the Kyauktawgyi Buddha image built by King Mindon in 1853–78. The Image was carved out of a huge single block of marble.Statues of 80 arahants are assembled around the Image, twenty on each side. The carving was completed in 1865.

Mahamuni Buddha Temple

The image of Gautama Buddha at Mahamuni Buddha Temple is said to have been cast in the life-time of the Gautama Buddha and that the Buddha embraced it seven times, thereby bringing it to life. Consequently, devout Buddhists hold it to be alive and refer to it as the Mahamuni Sacred Living Image. Revered as the holiest pagoda in Mandalay, It was built by King Bodawpaya in 1784. The image in a sitting posture is 12 feet and 7 inches (3.8 m) high. As the image was brought from Rakhine State, it was also called the Great Rakhine Buddha. The early morning ritual of washing the Face of Buddha Image draws a large crowd of devotees everyday. The Great Image is also considered as the greatest in Burma next to Shwedagon Pagoda. A visit to Mandalay is incomplete without a visit to Mahamuni Pagoda.

Mandalay Hill

The hill has for long been a holy mount. Legend has it that the Buddha, on his visit, had prophesied that a great city would be founded at its foot. Mandalay Hill, 230 metres in elevation, commands a magnificent view of the city and surrounding countryside. The construction of a motor road to reach the hill-top has already been finished.

Mandalay Palace

The whole magnificent palace complex was destroyed by a fire during World War II. However, the finely built palace walls, the city gates with their crowning wooden pavilions and the surrounding moat still represent an impressive scene of the Mandalay Palace, "Mya-nan-san-kyaw Shwenandaw", which has been rebuilt using forced labor. A model of the Mandalay Palace, Nanmyintsaung and Mandalay Cultural Museum are located inside the Palace grounds.

Shwenandaw Monastery

Famous for its intricate wood carvings, this monastery is a fragile reminder of the old Mandalay Palace. Actually, it was a part of the old palace later moved to its current site, close to Atumashi Monastery, by King Thibaw in 1880.

The Chinese Temple Of Mandalay

The Chinese Temple, well known for its old artistic architectures and cultural artifacts, reflects Mandalay's old history.

Yananabon Zoological Gardens

A small zoo between the Mandalay Palace and Mandalay Hill. It has over 300 species and is notably the only zoo to have Burmese roofed turtles.

WHERE TO EAT

Restaurants offering, Myanmar, Chinese, Indian, and European food are available. Coffee shops and snacks bar are mostly in Mandalay. Beer pubs and bars are also available.

WHERE TO SHOP

Shopping Centres are blooming in Mandalay. Souvenirs and Handicrafts shops are also available.

WHERE TO ENTERTAIN

Mandalay is the main city of cultural heritage. Marionette shows and traditional theatre are available. Our tour operators can arrange customized show programs with tourists. Handicrafts, Lacquerware and other souvenirs shops are widely available. Art Galleries and Gems shops also offer reasonable prices for different items.

Mingun

Mingun is located on the western bank of the river Ayeyarwaddy. approximately 7 miles north of Mandalay. It is reached by ferryboats across the river and takes 1 hour for up-river and 40 minutes for down-river. It is famous for many Buddhist shrines. monasteries. meditation centres and monuments of historical and cultural importance. A boat trip to Mingun is pleasant with plenty of life on the river to see. It is about 11 miles from Sagaing and you can reach there by road. It takes about 30 minutes. And you can also travel to Mingun from Mandalay but you can get there by road. It is about 7 miles up river from Mandalay and you can accessible only by boat. Via Gawwein jetty.

The journey takes 45 minutes.When you come along the motor way to Mingun from Sagaing. you will first arrive at Kandawgyi. one of the prominent big four in Mingun. Kandawgyi was formed while digging earth to make bricks for building of Mingun Pahtodawgyi. It was built by King Bodaw Badon in 1791. You will arrive at Mingun Pahtodawgyi from Kandawgyi .Now. we are here at the Mingun Pahtodawgyi from the top of the Pagoda you can view the scene of Mingun and Ayeyawady river. You can use this stair to climb to the top and there are all together 174 steps.

It is reached by ferryboats across the river and takes 1 hour for up-river and 40 minutes for down-river. The journey takes 45 minutes.When you come along the motor way to Mingun from Sagaing. you will first arrive at Kandawgyi. one of the prominent big four in Mingun.

Mingun Bell

King Bodawpaya dedicated a big bronze bell near the Mingun Cedi at Mingun on the west bank of the Ayeyawaddy River. facing Mandalay.

The Bell was made of bronze; but it is said that Buddhist devotees inserted gold. silver ornaments and jewellery into the bronze.

The Bell measures eleven cubits and four thits (fingers) in diameter at its mouth; 33 cubits. one mit (6 inches) and four thits in circumference and 13 cubits. one mit and four thits in height. It weighs 55555 viss.
It is the world's biggest ringing bell.

Amarapura

Amarapura lies on the left bank of the Ayarwaddy River. A suburb of Mandalay. it is also known as Taung-myo (Southern Town) or Myohaung (Old City). Founded by King Bodawpaya in 1783 as his new capital. Amarapura means City of Immortality. Amarapura was the capital city of Myanmar. during the Konbaung Dynasty. It was founded by King Bodawpaya in 1782 AD. as the king transferred the capital from Innwa (or Ava). King Bagyidaw. grandson of Bodawpaya shifted the capital back to Innwa in 1823. but King Tharrawaddy his successor again took the capital back to Amarapura in 1837 and it remained as the capital until King Mindon built Mandalay in 1857 and shifted the capital there in 1860.

Amarapura is famous for the Silk Weaving Industry. Most of the Myanmar people are very proud to attend the cultural ceremonies with Achiek Longyi. mainly produced from Amarapura. Not very far from Mandalay city and accessible by car.

MahagandayonMonastery, is where we can observe the life of the monks how they live and how they study. It was founded around 1914 and is renowned as a center for monastic study and strict religious discipline.

U Bein Bridge which was constructed with teak pillars brought from the deserted Ava palace to built 1.2 km long footbridge.It is a place to contemplate the picturesque sunset to end the day of your visit.

Inwa (Ava)

Inwa was formerly known as Ava and it is located 21km from Mandalay. Inwa was also known as Yadana Pura. It was first founded as a capital by King Thado Minbya in 1364 A.D. It is the confluence of the Ayeyarwaddy & Myint Nge rivers. But the king had a canal dug to join the Myint Nge and Myint Tha rivers thus cutting off the capital as an island. safe from enemy attacks. It continued to be capital till 1782 when Bodawpaya moved the capital to Amarapura. But his son King Bagyidaw moved his capital back to Inwa. It was destroyed by the earthquake of 1838.

The ruins of the palace. the massive fort walls and moat can still be seen of the splendour of the past when it had been the capital for more than four and half centuries. Inwa lies south of Mandalay and can from there in only 30 minutes of drive be attained. This old king city was long time capital of Oberburma. The foreign country was at present well-known Myanmar as the Kingdom of Ava.The king palace at that time does not exist any longer. however still the Nanmyint awake tower. From 27 meters height of bird perspective one can examine the range of the historical place. Numerous pagodas. temple and monasteries outlasted however Inwas' eventful past. The monastery Maha Aung Myay Bon Zan built with brick and stucco is particularly interesting. It was established to 1818 by the queen Me Nu for the royal abbot at that time U Po.

On the road to Sagaing. just before you reach the Inwa bridge. there is a road branching east ward. The Inwa bridge crosses the Ayeyarwaddy River. This road leads to a ferry station where you can cross the Myittha river to reach Inwa.

Maha Aung Mye Bon Zan Monastery (Me Nu Oak-kyaung)

The Maha Aung Mye Bonzan. well known as Me Nu Oak-kyaung (Brick Monastery). was built in 1822 by Nanmadaw Me Nu. Chief Queen of King Bagyidaw. for the royal abbot Nyaunggan Sayardaw U Po. then offered to the 2nd Nyaunggan Sayardaw U Bok. I was also damaged by the earthquake of 1838 but was repaired in 1873 by Sinphyumashin. the daughter of Me Nu and a queen of King Mindon. This monastery is one of the finest specimens of Myanmar architecture during the Konbaung Period (19th century). Its architecture is in simulation of wooden monasteries with multiple roofs and a prayer hall of seven-tiered superstructure.

The Grand Bargaya Monastery

The grand Bagaya monastery. decorated with splendid Myanma architectural works. is in the ancient city of Innwa.King Bagyidaw of Innwa era built the Bagaya monastery at the confluence of the Ayeyawady and the Myitnge rivers in 1196 Myanma Era. The site of the monastery is about (11) miles from the Mandalay City. The grand Bagaya Monastery has a three-tiered roof and its adjacent religious lecture hall. in the eastern side of the monastery. has a seventiered roof. The monastery has (267) teak posts. The largest teak post is (9) feet in circumference. The post is (60) feet high. The monastery is (118) feet long and (103) feet wide. The monastery has tour brick stairs.

The entire building of the monastery is decorated with carvings. floral arabesques. the ornamentation with curved figurines and the reliefs of birds and animals as well as small pillars on the wall decorated with tunnery. the artistic works of Innwa Era. Large teak of the doors monastory are also beautifully dsigned with sculptures and reliefs. There is a reverential statue on a throne in the Marabin or a large hall with its partition reaching from the floor to the ceiling of the monastery. The statue was sculptured with the handiwork of Innwa Era. The grand Bagaya monastery is still existing today in its original form. All the Myanmar nationals can be proud of the splendid monastery which is like an ancient arts museum.

Sagaing

Sagaing lies 21km south-west of Mandalay on the west bank of the Ayeyarwaddy River. It lies in Sagaing division. which is the largest division in Myanmar. Not far from Mandalay, there is the famous place for religious centre called Sagaing. After the fall of Bagan, Sagaing became the capital but only for a very short. Today it is mostly known as the religious centre that supports dozens of Buddhist monasteries and nunneries as well as a major monastic hospital around sacred Sagaing Hill including Son OoPonnyashin Pagoda&U Min Thonezae caves Temple. Silversmiths nearby Ywahtaung village are renowned for their engraving skills and rattan products are also worth seeing. Kaungmudaw Pagoda, it was built in 1636 and styled after Ceylonese (Sri Lanka) pagoda in commemoration of the re-establishment of AVA as the royal capital. Its’ unusual shape a perfect hemisphere enormous dome is amazing to see far from this pagoda.

Pyin Oo Lwin

Pyin Oo Lwin is located on the western bank of the river Ayeyarwaddy. approximately 7 miles north of Mandalay. Over 1000 metres above sea-level. Pyin Oo Lwin is a popular hill station about 69km away from Mandalay. It is well known for its colonial style houses with large compound and pine trees. eucalyptus and silver-oak abound in town. Delightfully cool and pleasant the whole year round. Surrounded by low hills within an area of approximately 30sq.km, the area is dotted with pine trees; eucalyptus and silver oak, coffee, vegetables and strawberries are grown on the slopes of the hills. Sweater-knitting is the biggest occupation in town. The local market, which is a good place for an evening stroll or an interesting morning spent around the markets, the Kandawgyi National Park, the Pwekauk waterfalls,Maha Ant HtooKanThar Buddha Image, the Peikchinmyaung caves are highlights of PyinOoLwin whereas Anisakhan waterfalls and Chinese Temple are optional visits at extra time.

Copyright © 2021 | Website Design by MWD